Ask a Question

Advanced Search

Solution ID : SO21539

Last Modified : 05/02/2018

Intermediate Certificate Authority (CA) Installation Instructions for Microsoft IIS 8.0


To install the Thawte Intermediate CA certificates, perform the following steps:

Step 1: Determine the SSL product type

Each Thawte SSL product requires the installation of a specific Intermediate CA file. Be sure to download and install the correct Intermediate CA file in order for the SSL certificate to function correctly. If unsure of the correct product type, click on the link below and run a search for the certificate using the common name or order number.

Step 2: Download the Thawte Intermediate CA file

Download the appropriate Thawte Intermediate CA from the following article: AR1384

Note: Be sure to use Vi or Notepad as word processing programs like Microsoft Wordpad may add additional characters that may render the certificate unusable. 

Step 3: Create a Certificate Snap-in

  1. Access the Search menu. In the search box, type mmc
  2. From the Microsoft Management Console (MMC), click  File > Add/Remove Snap-in
  3. From the list of snap-ins, select Certificates
  4. Click Add
  5. Select Computer Account
  6. Click Next
  7. Select Local Computer (the computer this console is running on)
  8. Click Finish
  9. In the Add/Remove Snap-in window, click OK

Step 4:  Install the Thawte Intermediate CA file

  1. From the left pane, expand the Intermediate Certification Authorities folder
  2. Right-Click on the Certificates folder
  3. Select All Tasks > Import
  4. In the Certificate Import Wizard, click Next
  5. Click Browse and navigate to the Intermediate CA Certificate File (The PKCS#7 file downloaded in Step 2)
  6. Click Next
  7. Select  Place all certificates in the following store: Intermediate Certification Authorities
  8. Click Next
  9. Click Finish

Note: A restart of the Web site(s) from within IIS may be necessary in order for the changes to take affect.